Trump Management 2

Choosing between options

The hand in diagram (a) is really not difficult but I was not surprised to see an experienced club player misplay it. The contract is 4♠, North led the ♠A and followed with another spade, the trump suit breaking 2-2. 

  This hand is not about taking a ruff in dummy before drawing trumps. There are no trumps left. There are two things to do: taking ruffs in dummy and setting up dummy’s long suit. The question is: ‘In which order should I tackle these tasks?’

Diagram (a)

♠  K Q 7 4 3


♠ J 10 6 2

♥ 8 2



♥ Q J 10 9 

♦ A 6 4


♦ 7 

♣  A K 2


♣ 7 6 5 3

Most players love ruffing losers. The declarer I saw cashed the ♦A at trick 3 and the ruffed a diamond. He now gave the hand some thought: too late! He tried the ♥Q but South won and returned another diamond, taking dummy’s last trump. Declarer now played a second heart, establishing two heart winners in dummy, but they were useless because he had no entries to them. He later lost a club trick to go down.

On the whole declarer play doesn’t lend itself to slogans or simple rules, but there is one principle that has widespread application. If you need to set up winners from a long suit, and you also need to take ruffs in another suit, the long suit takes priority.  

Look what happens here if declarer plays a heart at trick 3. The defenders cannot effectively attack dummy’s entries so they switch to clubs. Declarer wins with the ♣A and forces out the other top heart. The club return is taken with the ♣K and only then does declarer cash the ♦A, ruff a diamond and take his two established heart winners.

In the next hand declarer doesn’t have a the luxury of being able to  ruff losers and set up a long suit: he has to choose between one and the other. For diagram (b)  the contract is 4♠ and the lead is the ♠A followed by a second spade. Trumps are breaking 3-2.

Diagram (b)

♠ K Q J 10 8


♠ 9 7 6

♥ A 5 3 2


♥ 9

♦ K 7



♦ A 6 5 4 2

♣ A 3



♣ 10 7 4 2

Without the trump lead you could have comfortably fulfilled your contract by ruffing two hearts in dummy. This option is now closed to you. Therefore you must try to find a line of play which will bring you 10 tricks. The only possibility lies in setting up two length winners from the diamond suit, but you require diamonds to break 3-3 and because you need the ♠9 as an entry to dummy’s diamonds you cannot afford to ruff even one heart. I hope you thought this out before following to the first two tricks because if you have parted with the ♠8 from your hand you have no chance.

Do you see the importance of planning the whole play before playing a single card? Play the ♠10 under the ♠A at trick 1, win trick 2 with the ♠J, cash the ♦K, cross to dummy with the ♦A and ruff the ♦4 with your ♠Q. If  diamonds have broken 3-3 you are home and dry. Draw the last enemy trump by overtaking your precious ♠8 with dummy’s ♠9 and cash your two established diamonds.

For the hand in diagram (c) you have bid to 7♠. The lead is the ♥Q, won by your ♥A. Do you aim for a cross-ruff or do you try to set up South’s diamonds?

Diagram (c)

♠ A 9 8 7


♠ K Q J 10 

♥ 8 4 3


♥ A K 5 2

♦ A K 5 4 3 2


♦ 8 6

♣ -



♣ A 5 3

The important thing to realise is that unless diamonds are breaking 3-2 then a cross ruff cannot succeed, so you must assume they are breaking. In that case you can set up the diamonds by means of a ruff. The only thing to defeat you then would be a 5-0 trump break.

  How about the cross-ruff? You also need hearts to break no worse than 4-2, but on some distributions you may be able to cope with a 5-0 trump break.

Looked at like this the decision is clearcut. A 5-1 heart break is clearly more likely than a 5-0 trump break so it is right to aim to establish the diamonds. Win the ♥A, cash the ♠K and ♠Q, followed by the ♦A and ♦K, Ruff a diamond in dummy, overtake dummy’s last trump with your ♠A and enjoy your winners.

Note the thought processes here. The 3-2 diamond break was taken for granted because no line of play succeeds if diamonds are 4-1. Once that is assumed it can be forgotten. You can concentrate on 5-0 trump breaks or 5-1 heart breaks: both far more unlikely than a 4-2 diamond break but these are breaks that you may be able to do something about.  

Safety Plays to avoid ruffs

Safety plays occur in all sorts of contracts: often the safety play is the same whether the denomination is no-trumps or a suit contract. In this article I am dealing only with plays that aim to avoid, or minimise the impact of, a ruff.

In diagram (d)  the contract is 4♠ after North made a take-out double of your 1♠ opening bid. The lead is the ♦Q.

Diagram (d)

♠ K Q J 7


♠ 10 9 5 4

♥ A K



♥ 7 6

♦ K 4 3 2


♦ A 7 6 5

♣ J 7 6


♣ A Q 10

If you carelessly won the first trick in your hand with the ♦K you will fail. North has:

♠ A

♥ Q J 10 
♦ Q J 10 9
♣ K 9 8 4 2 

North will gain the lead with the ♠A and continue diamonds. Dummy’s ♦A will be ruffed away and you will still have two losing diamonds. 

  On this hand you can place North with all the missing points, so North will be on lead with the ♠A. The danger (particularly in view of the take-out double) is that South has a  singleton diamond. You need to win the first diamond in dummy with the ♦A. Now if North continues diamonds when he takes the ♠A,  South will only be ruffing a loser. The ♦K in your hand is safe for your tenth trick

Sometimes the threatened ruff cannot be avoided but you can make the defenders play a high price. In diagram (e) you are in 4♠. North leads the ♣3 to South’s ♣A and South returns the ♣Q. How should you play this contract?

Diagram (e)

♠ K Q J 9


♠ A 10 8 7

♥ 3



♥ A J 4 2

♦ A 8 



♦ 7 5

♣ K 10 9 8 6 5

♣ 7 4 2

It is pointless playing the ♣K in the hope that clubs are 2-2. North would surely not have led the ♣2 from ♣J 2,  and even if he had chosen to make such an extraordinary lead your contract is safe whatever you do.

  If you wrongly cover the ♣Q with the ♣K at trick 2 North ruffs and switches to a diamond. When South gains the lead with the ♣J he cashes a diamond.

  The point of this hand is that it is not the club ruff in itself that defeats you: it is the combination of a club ruff and a diamond loser. If you can avoid the diamond loser you will succeed. Allow the ♣Q to win at trick 2 without covering with the ♣K. South can persevere with clubs and give North a ruff, but now your clubs are set up. You can draw trumps, discard a diamond from dummy on a winning club and ruff a diamond in dummy.

It is annoying to have your winner ruffed away but sometimes you need to just keep a cool head and everything will be all right. You are playing in 4♠ in diagram (f) after North opened a weak 2♥ (showing 5-9 points and 6 hearts). North cashes the ♥A K and continues with a third heart, South ruffing with the ♠9.

Diagram (f)

♠ A K 6 4 3


♠ Q 8 5 2

♥ J 6



♥ Q 10 4

♦ A 6



♦ 8 5 4 3

♣ K Q 4 3


♣ A 2

If you wrongly overruff with the ♠K you will later lose a trump and a diamond because North has: 

♠ J 10 7
♥ A K 9 8 5 2

♦ J 2

♣ 10 5

Correct play is to discard your losing diamond. That will then be your last loser.

The defenders did their best here. South’s play of the ♠9, hoping that you make the mistake of overruffing is aimed at not only ruffing away your winner but also promoting a trump trick for partner. It is called an Uppercut. The best way of countering an attempted uppercut is to discard a loser. I suppose it is the equivalent of ducking if a boxer aims an uppercut at you.

Ruffing in the long trump hand

One of the most important reasons for choosing a suit contract rather than no-trumps is that you hope to end up with a situation in which you have trumps left while your opponents have none, and hence you can trump their winners but they cannot trump your winners. If you get an opportunity to ruff a loser in the hand with shorter trumps it usually gives you an extra trick. On the other hand ruffing in the hand with most trumps usually gains you nothing and can seriously jeopardise your trump control. If you choose to ruff in the long hand you need a good reason. The most common reasons are:

1)  You need to ruff out dummy’s suit, making length cards into winners.

2)  You intend to cross-ruff the hand and don’t mind losing trump control.

3)  You need quick entries to your hand. 

4)  You intend to reverse dummy, shortening the trumps in the long hand until it now has fewer trumps than the shorter hand and using the shorter hand to draw trump.

 In diagram (g) you are in 7♠. The lead is the ♣K. Can you see a way to dispose of your heart loser?

Diagram (g)
♠ A K J 9 7


♠ Q 10 8

♥ A 6 5


♥ K 7 2

♦ A K Q J 


♦ 10 9 7

♣ 5



♣ A 4 3 2

You might hope that you can draw two rounds of trumps and hope to cash four diamonds without running into a ruff. On the fourth diamond you would discard a heart. Now you could ruff your heart loser in dummy. This isn’t very plausible, is it? You need the same defender to hold 3 trumps and 4 diamonds.

  A better idea is to reverse dummy. Win the ♣A and ruff a club with the ♠A. Overtake the ♠7 with the ♠8 and ruff the ♣3 with the ♠K. Now overtake the ♠9 with dummy’s ♠10 and ruff the final club. A heart to dummy’s ♥K allows you to draw the last trump with dummy’s ♠Q. All you needed was trumps 3-2.

  Dummy reversals can be quite hard to spot. As a tip: whenever you think of leaving a losing trump at large while you run a long suit try to imagine whether a dummy reverse would be suitable. The vital question is often entries: here you needed four entries to dummy, three to ruff clubs and one to get to dummy to draw the last trump. You have the necessary four entries: 2 trumps, the ♥K and ♣A.

In diagram (h) you are in 4♥. The ♥K lead means it is unlikely that you will be allowed to ruff your losing club in dummy. Can you see the solution? Assume trumps break 3-2.

Diagram (h)

♠ K 10 6 4


♠ A Q J 7

♥ A 8 5 4 3


♥ 9 7 2

♦ 8



♦ A 6 3 2

♣ A 9 2


♣ 4 3

This is a rather unlikely-looking dummy reverse. Aim to ruff three diamonds in your hand. Allow the ♥K to hold the trick, and win the ♥A at trick 2, leaving just one heart at large. Cash the ♦A, ruff the ♦2, cross to dummy’s ♠J, ruff the ♦3, enter dummy again with the ♠Q and ruff the ♦6. North can make his trump whenever he pleases.  He can’t prevent you from ruffing 3 diamonds in your hand.

Trump Control

Keeping trump control can be problematical if you have only 7 trumps. In diagram (i) you arrive at a somewhat precarious 3♠. The defenders start off by leading the ♥ K Q J. Plan the play.

Diagram (i)
♠ A K Q J 4


♠ 10 9

♥ 5 2



♥ 7 4 3

♦ A 6 



♦ 9 8 4 3 2

♣ K Q J 10


♣ 6 4 2

If you trump the third heart and try to draw trumps you will be in trouble if trumps are 4-2 because you will have to drive out the ♣A when you have no trumps left.

  Suppose you trump the third heart and drive out the ♣A next. If clubs are 4-2  the defenders might hold off the ♣A and you might then run into a club ruff.

  The safest way is to discard a diamond on the third heart. Then if they lead a fourth heart you can ruff it in dummy. This is an example of a loser-on-loser play. 
In diagram (j) you are in 4♠ and North leads the ♥K. 

Diagram (j)

♠ K 7 3 2


♠  A 8 6 5

♥ 8



♥  A

♦ K Q 6 5


♦  A J 3 2

♣ J 10 6 5


♣  K Q 8 7

Sometimes it can be hard to spot when your trump control is under threat. Suppose you take the ♣A and cash the ♠A K. Most of the time the missing trumps will split 3-2 and you will make eleven tricks. About one third of the time trumps will be 4-1. If then the defender with four trumps has the ♣A he will be able to draw your remaining trumps and run riot in hearts.

  The correct play to virtually safeguard 10 tricks is to win the ♥A, draw just one round of trumps with the ♠K and then drive out the ♣A. Your remaining high trump safeguards your trump control.  

The loser-on-loser

Look at diagram (k). You are in 6♥. Plan the play:

(i)   If a trump is led.

(ii)  If the ♣K is led. 

Diagram (k)

♠ A K 9 3


♠ 2

♥ A Q J 7 5 4 

♥ K 10 9 3 2

♦ -



♦ K Q 

♣ 5 3 2


♣ A 8 7 6 4

(i)  On a trump lead the contract is trivial, whatever the distribution. Draw trumps ending in dummy and lead the ♦K. You intend to throw a losing club on this and another on the ♦Q. It doesn’t matter which one loses to the ♦A: you are happy to exchange two club losers for one diamond loser. You are throwing a club loser on a diamond loser, but in such away that it promotes another diamond trick.

(ii)  A club lead puts you under more pressure. You play it the same way, but now you need South to hold the ♦A. You are taking  a ruffing finesse. If South has the ♦A and covers the ♦K then you ruff, re-enter dummy to discard a club loser. If North has it you will fail because although you have set up a diamond winner, North cashes a club trick before you can use the ♦Q.

In diagram (l) the contract is 6♠. North leads the ♥Q. How do you fancy your chances?

Diagram (l)

♠ A K 8 7 5


♠ Q J 10 9 6 

♥ K 3 2


♥ -

♦ A Q 10 7


♦ 6 5 4

♣ A 



♣ 9 7 6 4 3 

You can drive yourself mad thinking about double finesses in diamonds, or looking for endplays. Nothing seems to works because North has the ♦K J and by the time you have eliminated the side suits you have no trumps left in dummy, annulling the effect of any possible ruff-and-discard. 

  Of course you have created the problem by assuming that you must ruff the heart lead in dummy. It seems so natural to use a void to ruff, but try a little creative thinking. Suppose you discard the ♦4 on the ♥Q. South wins the ♥A and switches to a diamond but you can rise with the ♦A, discard dummy’s last diamond on your established ♥K and cross-ruff your way to 12 easy tricks.

Many other loser-on-loser plays make no pretence at setting up winners. How should you play a contract of 6♠ in diagram (m)? North leads the ♦K.

Diagram (m)

♠ A Q J 10 9


♠ K 3 2

♥ A 7



♥ 6 3

♦ A 



♦ 9 8 6 5 3 2

♣ A K 7 5 4


♣ 3 2

If clubs are 3-3 it is easy to set up your second suit with just one ruff in dummy, but how about if they are 4-2? You can ruff one club high, but if you ruff the other one with a low trump it is likely that somebody will overruff. 

  The answer is to win the ♦A, cash the ♣A K and ruff a club with the ♠K. If clubs are breaking 4-2 you can return to your hand with the ♥A and lead a fourth club, discarding a heart. This loser-on-loser play exchanges a heart loser for a club loser, but the difference is that it is safe to ruff a heart in dummy without any danger of an overruff.

Another use for loser-on-loser play is to overcome a blockage. In diagram (n) your contract is 6♠ and North leads the ♥K. You win the ♥A and cash the ♠Q and ♠J, discovering that trumps are 3-2.  How do you proceed?  

Diagram (n) 

♠ A Q J 10 9


♠ K 6 5

♥  4



♥ A 5 

♦  A K 10 9


♦ Q 7 4 3 2

♣  A 6 2


♣ 7 5 3

You can cash the ♦A: both opponents follow suit. Now your contract is assured. Draw the last trump with dummy’s ♠K and lead the ♥5, discarding your ♦9. This unlikely looking play has not reduced your number of winners: you still have five diamond tricks. The difference is that you can cash the ♦K, overtake your ♦10 with dummy’s ♦Q and discard your two losing clubs on dummy’s ♦7 and ♦4. If you had not discarded your blocking ♦9 you would have had to take the fourth diamond trick in your hand, with no access to dummy’s remaining diamond winner.  

